I realize this will very likely be a short thread, but it is a question that has been eating at me for a while.
I have just started taking a Java class (basic introduction) and so far I am loving it. Primarily I am a web programmer, so the only difficult thing was the name changes for a few things.
So on to the question/explanation. I read somewhere that the android operating system is based on a Linux kernel and it has some C or C# in there and it largely utilizes Java for it's interface and control of the apps. So the question is:
Is it possible to create an OS based on a Linux kernel (like android) but completely out of Java (riding on the kernel) that would work on a desktop computer and allow you to open windows, mac, and linux programs? Like I said, I am a complete noob to this field, so be gentle with me.
Thanks in advance for your time and wisdom. =)

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Hmm... Well, could you run Java without its interpretor? I doubt it because Java is not that low level language...

Hmm well i have to agree with Taywin since java is in a "virtual machine" meaning that the Operating system is in the lowest level, and the virtual machine also gives you certain amount of ram unlike C , like if you create a recursive program it will eventually run out of ram and quit without completing quitting your computer. As a full OS like MAC or Windows or Linux but you might be able to create a "webOS" .

I see. I thought it might be impossible, but you never know. I'm just itching to make something that could operate off three system's programs and still be very fast and stable. Guess that's not much of a reality is it?

Yes. It is quite possible. In fact, it's been done several times.

See: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/JavaOS