Hello.I've been looking for a free C++ compiler for windows which supports the new standard features but i had little luck so far.Does someone have any knowledge of one? Thank you in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I know the GNU g++ complier has limited support with the -std=gnu++0x switch.

There isn't a single compiler that supports all of C++0x at this point. I believe GCC (starting at 4.6 or 4.7) is the closest though, if you want to play with C++0x I'd go with GCC.

Thanks but i can't install Linux on that machine.How about Visual Studio Express 2008? I've never used Visual Studio before so i don't really know.

Thanks but i can't install Linux on that machine.

GCC isn't restricted to Linux. Try the nuwen build of MinGW if you're on Windows, it's up to GCC 4.6.1. If you're on OSX, macports offers a recent build of GCC as well.

How about Visual Studio Express 2008?

True C++0x support starts with 2010 (stuff like long long was supported as an extension before), but the list of features is relatively short compared to GCC. Unfortunately, it doesn't seem like 2011 will be much better (still no variadic templates, for example).

Yes I think Visual studio 2010 has it

You don't need to install Linux. You can install code::blocks and then link it to a gcc compiler. Check this out.

Definitely GCC is the best (and only) compiler right now that has a pretty good support for C++0x (C++11) features. A quick look at this table reveals this pretty clearly. And specifically for GCC here. From looking at the list, you can see that 4.6 is a pretty good version, the things added by the absolute newest version (4.7) are not that important (and, of course, 4.7 is not released yet, but under development, so it can be hard to get it working on Windows). As suggested, you can use the nuwen build of MinGW for the state-of-the-art releases of GCC for windows. Using Cygwin is also an option I guess.