Hi,

I recently started learning C++ and have decided to install it onto my computer to try writing some codes. So I chose Code Block as my IDE since it is free. I know, since I use Windows 7, you will probably recommend Visual C++. But I want to stick to Code Blocks since I have practice with it a few weeks back using my school's system.

So I installed code block. Now I try to type C++ but apparently it is not working. What I mean is I have the IDE but it would appear that I need the SDK as well.

Sorry I might be phrasing this incorrectly. Here is an analogy, when I install a Java IDE of my choice, I am also required to install the development kit of Java from Sun microsystem so that I actually "installed Java" correctly. Now I want to perform this step correctly in C++. Tried to keep it as brief but as clear as possible. Thank you for taking the time to help.

Sincerely,

Limiter

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

To reach the point of being able to write and run a C++ program, you need three things. A text editor to write the code, a compiler to turn the text files into object files, and a linker to tie the object files together into an executable or library. If you have installed Code::Blocks, presumably from here:

http://www.codeblocks.org/downloads

and installed it, you have everything you need except the compiler/linker.

http://www.codeblocks.org/features

Note the list of supported compilers. You must get one of these and tell Code::Blocks which one you have chosen. They generally come with the linker as well, so you don't need to worry about that. You're not missing an SDK; you're missing the actually program that takes your text files and turns them into binary object files.

If you have correctly installed Code::Blocks and the compiler, you should be able to compile and build the following:

#include <iostream>

int main()
{
  std::cout << "Hello world" << std::endl;
  return 0;
}