I am just starting to teach myself C++ and i have no coding experience so please bear with me on this if I ask you to explain your reasoning behind your response.

My code is:

// operating with varables
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

//declarations
char STAR;
int PRIME = 71;

//begin main body
int main ()
{
    int count, sum, ex, num;
    sum = count + PRIME; 
    num = count * 1 + 2;
    (sum + count = ex);
    ex = sum * count;
    count = 25.67;
    cout << " Count = " << count << ", Sum = " << sum << ", Prime = " << PRIME << endl;
    return 0;

}

Debug errors received:

Error   1   error C2106: '=' : left operand must be l-value (error on line in bold)
Warning 2   warning C4244: '=' : conversion from 'double' to 'int', possible loss of data

Let me know what you all think.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

How about:

ex=(sum+count);

?

Also the value 25.67 has a fractional part and an integer does not.
If you want the value to keep the .67, you will need to make the count a double (or other type of floating point number).

The warning you got means the framework will convert that double to an integer and it will lose the fractional part.

Error 1 error C2106: '=' : left operand must be l-value (error on line in bold)

Did you mean to put the value you get after summing sum and count into ex. If so, you should do like this.

ex = sum + count;

Warning 2 warning C4244: '=' : conversion from 'double' to 'int', possible loss of data

count is declared as an int, which means it can hold values like 100, 101, 102... but not 101.43 or 3.14. But here you are trying to assign 25.67 to count. This is not an error, but eventually your count will ignore 0.67 and store only 25. So, if the 0.67 is important in your case you should use data types like double or float for count

I am just starting to teach myself C++ and i have no coding experience so please bear with me on this if I ask you to explain your reasoning behind your response.

My code is: