Hi,

i'm a newbie in visual basic. my teacher asked me to create a 3 page questionaire (1 question per page) which has a timer counting down. when the time expires, it dispalys "time is out" and saves the questions in a text file.

please help me.

design your questions and save it in .rtf format. Use rich text box in vb to load that questionnaire. and use timer control to control the time limit.

thank you very much for the reply blokcer! i am new to VB so sorry if i might be a bit slow to understand things. what i actually have are 3 forms(1 questions each) and 1 timer that should time all the three forms.
i am not sure how to do the .rtf thing for VB. And as for the timer , how can i carry over/continue the countdown to the next forms? i have attached a picture of how my interface looks like.
i know i am asking too much, but please do help me.
thanks a lot.

attached picture

You do not need rich text box I think as Ive seen on your form.. I have coded below base on your need..Change it to fit on to your program.

Public logintime    As Date
    Public timelimit    As Date
    Public timetoout    As Date
    Public timeleft     As Date
    public currtimeof   As Date

Private Sub StartTest_Click() 'Command button 
    logintime = Now
    timelimit = TimeValue("00:05:00") 'example time limit is 5 seconds. 
    timetoout = (logintime) + (timelimit)
    timetoout.Caption = Format(timetoout, "mm/dd/yyyy hh:mm:ss AM/PM")
    end sub

'Set Timer Interval to 1000 first in order for the next block of code to run perfectly
    Private Sub Timer1_Timer()
    currtimeof = Format(Now)
    timeleft = CDate(currtimeof) - CDate(timetoout)
    timeleftshow.Caption = Format(timeleft, "hh:mm:ss") 'to display time left

'This will detect if user has reach time limit
    If Format(timeleftshow.Caption, "hh:mm:ss") = "00:00:00" Then
        Timer1.Enabled = False
        msgbox "Time is up. Thank you!",vbinformation,"Time Up"
    End If
    end sub

'Thats it!