Hello everyone,

I progress step by step my problem, one step is passed -now I can send string datas -text messages- here another step is I want to record some audio sounds by using microphone in first android emulator assume phone1 and send to second android emulator-phone2-. I found whole class about capturing and recording into audio file so I only ask to you that how I can send these recorded sound file -example and assume that I have a file named myFirst.wav in sdcard of first android emulator 5554 but not in android emulator 5556 what classes in java api should be used and is there another way to transfer sound file between two android emulator instances ?

In fact, I am not asking code I have seen that -I am new at socket programming- server and client codes are canonical and almost same in connection side. I ask only that an idea or half-algorithm

Thanks for your posting
please help

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

1. Open file (if applicable)
2. convert to byte array
3. convert ip/host name to a InetAddress variable
4. create a packet (DatagramPacket for UDP for example)
5. create socet
6. send byte array
7. close socket.

That's how you send a byte array, and it dceonst matter what the byte array is about, it could be a jpeg .flac .exe, doesnt matter. What matter is that it's in a byte array.

Hope it helps.

Once you have your socket connection you can send the file over it by simply reading it in sensible sized blocks and writing them in a single stream of bytes to a DataOutputStream via the socket.
This is the standard code for doing that kind of thing, which you will find all over the web:

DataOutputStream outbound = new DataOutputStream(clientSocket.getOutputStream());
    byte[] data = new byte[4096];
    int count;
    while ((count = file.read(data)) != -1) {
        outbound.write(data, 0, count);
    }
    file.close();
    outbound.close();