**Hi there,

I'm new to C++ (bet you guys don't hear that very often!!) and what I'm trying to do, in a console application, is this:

1. Ask for a number
  2. If the user input isn't a valid float, get angry and go back to 1.
  3. If the user input is a float, take the user input and print it back
  4. Use a function to print back the number, doubled, on a new line
  5. Count down from 5 and exit

I have it all apart from the if statement. How do I have the program test for a float and act upon it? I was playing around with goto and a label earlier, but that was just awful.

This is my code so far:

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
#include <Windows.h>

float doubledNumber;                                                
float x;                                                        
float doubler (float operand)                       
{
    doubledNumber = operand * 2;                         
    return doubledNumber;                                       
}

int main()
{
    std::cout << "Please enter a number\n";
    std::cin >> userInput;                                              
    std::cout << "The number you entered is " << userInput << ;       
    std::cout << "\nThis number, doubled, is ";                   

std::cout << doubler (userInput);                                 
    std::cout << "!\n";
    Sleep (1000);                                               
    std::cout << "Exiting in 5...";
    Sleep (1000);                                               
    std::cout << "4...";
    Sleep (1000);
    std::cout << "3...";
    Sleep (1000);
    std::cout << "2...";
    Sleep (1000);
    std::cout << "1...";
    Sleep (1000);
    return 0;

}

At the moment, if I enter anything that isn't a number, it calculates based on 0.

Thanks in advance for any replies! I know this is basic stuff, but I've always found interacting and discussing with other programmers easier than pounding pages.

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies