First, if I am not in the correct place, please let me know. I am a novice needing help. I have a single DB (Contractor) with 17 various fields. The purpose is to track the type of license they have, i.e. plumbing, electrical, HVAC, general, etc..... One contractor can have one to many types of licenses. I created a form to add the contractors the first time - no problems. It is the second, third license (type) where I am having a problem. I created another form to lookup the contractor by name (in a combo box) and bring all the fields into the form. I then edit the type (license) field and want to append the data back into the database as a new record. I am using a append query. Following is the syntax. Instead of a new record (same data except a differnet type) the current record is just overwritten? Help..... Is there a easier method?

INSERT INTO Contractor ( Company, Type, OT_Type_Desc, Lic_Date, Contact, Phys_Addr, Phys_City, Phys_St, MA_Addr, MA_City, MA_St, MA_Zip, Phone_1, Phone_2, Fax )
SELECT [Forms]![ContForm]![Combo0] AS Company, [Forms]![ContForm]![Combo57] AS Type, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text81] AS OT_Type_Desc, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text83] AS Lic_Date, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text85] AS Contact, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text87] AS Phys_Addr, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text89] AS Phys_City, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text91] AS Phys_St, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text93] AS MA_Addr, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text95] AS MA_City, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text97] AS MA_St, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text99] AS MA_Zip, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text101] AS Phone_1, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text103] AS Phone_2, [Forms]![ContForm]![Text105] AS Fax;

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

If you want to over write the record you need to use UPDATE not INSERT.

This looks like MS Access 2007. The INSERT to SELECT is then 100% for appending a record.