Hi everybody

Can you please explain me the weakpoints of c++ language?
I think it is very difficult to create GUI in C++, isn't it?
I also would like to know is there any method to combine C++ program and Java Program.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hi everybody

Can you please explain me the weakpoints of c++ language?

there are none. The language will allow you to do anything you want to your computer -- even burn it up if you want it to.

I think it is very difficult to create GUI in C++, isn't it?

yes

I also would like to know is there any method to combine C++ program and Java Program.

java programs can call C functions, but I have not figured out how to call Java from C or C++. It may not even be possible, I don't know. I'm not a java programmer -- just repeating what I've read and heard co-workers say.

C++ has features way beyond most other languages (eg multiple paradigm support in OOP and Parameterised programming), a huge community and wealth of high quality books available, and C++ really has no arbitary limitations in terms of what you can do with it. However, there's no such thing as perfect - every language has its achilles heel IMO.
There are some things where C++ "falls down", to a point. or maybe can be done in other languages much more efficiently. For example, PHP beats most languages hands down for dynamic web content. C++ is also fairly intense compared to other languages (Python for example is regarded as a much friendlier language for beginners).
Also, I believe some of the subtle differences between C and C++ make C a better choice for certain applications involving embedded systems (that's just something i recall reading on comp.lang.c++, so don't quote me on that final point :) )

Another disadvantage of C++ is, it's quite easy to mess up memory due to pointer errors. Languges like Java do not use pointers, so Java does not have this problem.