Hey,

I want to build some form application for Windows and i have tryed usind VS2010 but because IntelliSense is disabled for C++ i'm not able to work normaly as i'm fairly new to programming and i need to see the drop out menus after i use the "->" operator. Before i was using Borland Delphi, but i would like to switch to something else like VS. Can somebody please suggest a good dev. environment for c++ to run on Windows?

Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

I use VS2010, and can tell you that IntelliSense works just fine in C++.
perhaps you have an incorrect setting.

get Visual Studio 2012. I have not had any problems with intellisense. IMO you shouldn't learn to probram with an IDE that has intellisense anyway, you learn a lot better and fasteer if you have to completely type everything yourself. Nothing like good repetition to pound things into your brain.

Before i was using Borland Delphi, but i would like to switch to something else like VS.

If you are familiar with Borland Delphi, it might be easiest to use Borland C++Builder. The problem is that it is not available for free (beyond a 30 day trial). It is a decent product, very much like Delphi (and the compiler shares the same back-end as the Delphi compiler, which means libraries can natively link between them, e.g., the VCL (GUI library) used in C++Builder is in fact the Delphi one (with C++ headers)).

i have tryed usind VS2010 but because IntelliSense is disabled for C++

Intellisense is certainly not disabled for C++, at least, not by default (and it's actually kind of difficult to disable completely, even if you want to). However, Intellisense will require that you have the code setup properly as a "project" with all the relevant cpp file added to it, all the needed include-paths set, and so on. If you are just editing source files without being within a project / solution, Intellisense cannot really do much, and it doesn't.