Hello to all,

I'm new to C++, but I have a program in C++ that runs from DOS console. I'd like to execute
the same program adding a simple GUI with a button to select a file and inserting a value in a text
box.

How can I do this?
The C++ code would be the same in Visual C++ and would be needed only to add the GUI or how?

Thanks in advance for any suggestion.

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

Which version of VC++ do you have? Generally, you start a new project but select Win32 Project instead of Win32 Console Project. You will then get a new project in which you copy your console function(s). You then have to use win32 api functions for the GUI part of the program. Here is a good tutorial.

win32 api is pretty difficult to work with, so new programmers will find it a lot easier to use C# or VB.NET instead.

Hello AncientDragon,

Thanks for your answer and link shared.

I have Visual Studio 2012 Express installed.

So, a C++ program could be used in C# project to add it a GUI? or the C++ code must the translated first to C#?

Thanks again

It depends on the code. Start out by learning C# language then you will know how easy or difficult it will be to convert the code you have.

For some reason the windows form template for c++/cli was included in VS2012 but the references to it were removed. Heres a link to the files redone so that you can start a new windows form project using the .net librairies(for express usr 'vcprojects_WDExpress' instead of 'vcprojects' in the path he gives you), which removes most of the headaches of programming the Windows API's directly. you can still use your c++ code, you may have to add some headers and the std namespace.

On a side note, try to make you subroutines as portable as possible so that you only have to worry about arguments and return types.

commented: Thanks for that link :) +14

Thanks a lot for that link -- worked perfectly :) I had always wondered why Microsoft didn't include it in VC++ 2012 when it was in 2010.