I do not know if I am on the right track or not, but I have hit a dead end. I have read and reread my books chapters about super classes and inheritance and am still completely lost. in this assignment I have to: Write a super class encapsulating a circle; this class has one attribute representing the radius of the circle. it has methods returning the perimeter and the area of the circle. This class has a subclass encapsulating a cylinder. A cylinder has a circle as its base and another attribute, its length; it has two methods, calculating and returning its area and volumes.

I am wondering if any one could help make sure I am on the right track and give me some advice on what I need to do to finish this as I am completely lost. I am a complete newbie with programimg and I have been working on this for 1 and 1/2 weeks and this is all i have. I also have no idea what needs to go in the Figure class. Thank You

first class

public class Question48 
{
public static void main(String[] args) 
{
    Circle circle = new Circle();
    System.out.println(circle.GetArea());
} 
}

Second

public abstract class Figure 
{
    //Varibles 

//constructor 
    public Figure()
    {

}     
}

Third

public class Circle extends Figure
{
//Varibles
double area;
double radius;
double perimeter;

public double setArea()
{
    return area;
}

//accessors
public double GetArea() 
{
    return area;
}

public double GetPerimeter() 
{
    return perimeter;
}

public double getRadius()
{
    return radius;
}   

public Circle()
{

} 
}

Fourth

public class Cylinder extends Circle 
{
double length;

public double GetVolume() 
{
    return length * GetArea();
}
}

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

your Circle class should have only one attribute, the radius, so remove the doubles area and perimeter. you'll need to calculate those from the radius.

your Figure class ... well, it makes no sense. just remove it from your project.

public class Cylinder extends Circle