I am a Java developer but out of curiousity I would like to find out why is it not necessary for a method to declare an exception when coding in C++? So does it make C++ a weaker language since it enforces a weaker rule?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

In C (and C++) part of the language design doctrine is that you shouldn't have to pay for what you don't use. If you don't want to use exceptions, you shouldn't have to. You, the programmer, are trusted to know what you're doing and the choice of using exceptions or not is on you.

why is it not necessary for a method to declare an exception when coding in C++?

Because the designers of C++ chose to use unchecked exceptions rather than checked exceptions while the designers of Java chose the opposite. Attempts have been made to introduce checked exceptions into C++, with less than stellar success. Further, it seems like the prevailing opinion among experts is that while checked exceptions were originally accepted as the better option, the dependency costs of enfocing them unconditionally has more of a negative impact than they're worth.

I think those in the know these days will suggest that the best option is unchecked by default and opt-in for checked when needed (which is the approach that C++ has attempted to take). Consider this interview with Anders Hejlsberg on why C# doesn't use checked exceptions like Java.

So does it make C++ a weaker language since it enforces a weaker rule?