Hi, I'm a beginner in Vb.net. I have a problem like this.
My table name in dtabase is tblsales
67f4b407a5443c6d48ba102a4779c9f2

and i have 4 combobox in month and year
81361dad1be3d14458ae4ad0a3aa9a55

i need to find data between this 4 combobox. And this is the code i've tried before.

For a As Integer = 0 To 11
            Dim b As DateTime
            ComboBox1.Items.Add(Format(b.AddMonths(a), "MMMM"))
        Next
        ComboBox1.SelectedIndex = 0

that one to fill the combobox with months and this code below to search the data

DA = New SqlDataAdapter("select * from tblpenjualan where month >='" & ComboBox2.Text & "' And month <='" & ComboBox4.Text & "' And year >='" & ComboBox3.Text & "' And year <='" & ComboBox5.Text & "'",CONN)
        DS = New DataSet
        DA.Fill(DS)
        DGV.DataSource = DS.Tables(0)
        DGV.ReadOnly = True

and it doesn't work. when i select between february 2006 and march 2006, it will also show data in january.
and when i select data between January 2006 and March 2006, it will not show data in february. I think it search data based on the first letter like 'J'anuary and 'M'arch..

please help with this...

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

It looks to me if the dates are stored as strings you'll have to convert them to a date type to be able to compare the months like that.

Why not get rid of the year and month table entries and make a new one called date and its data type will be Date/Time. Then when you could use a query like this :

Select * from table
where date between 'YYYY-MM-DD' and 'YYYY-MM-DD'

Hope this helps

do you mean the one in the dbase?? I've already delete all the record and change my month and year coloumn into datetype and try to input the data again using my inputform but it not works anymore like before. it says 'Conversion failed when converting date and/or time from character string.'

hi wrathness,