Hello,

I am trying to interface with a laboratory instrument using C++. I realize that my C++ experience falls short of desirable for this task; I am a self-taught amateur C# programmer delving into C++ and much of the code I have written is new to me. However, I have been largely able to follow the instructions in the instrument manual and have an almost-working code with a couple problems that I would like help with. I will outline the problems below and then highlight them in the code.

1. My function takes a string as an input, but the message sending function takes a char array. I have tried multiple ways to do the conversion and each one results in a compile-time error (function call missing argument list; detailed further in the code below).

2. After sending the instruction, the instrument is supposed to send back a status update. The final part of this code is supposed to listen to this update, but it gives a ton of errors if I reproduce it from the instrument manual (also detailed in the code).

If anyone could help me resolve these issues I would appreciate it enormously. I have reproduced the code below. I reproduced the manual in a comment above each relevant code section, and also commented on the sections that aren't working (highlighted by the ####PROBLEM#### tag). Thank you!

#include "stdafx.h"
#include<iostream>
#include<vector>
#include<string>
//#include<WinUser.h>
#include<Windows.h>
//#include<afxwin.h>

//#include "Commands.h"

using namespace std;

void SendCommand(string command)
{
    //for testing purose:
    command = "CloseDrawer";

/*MANUAL
    Call the Win32 RegisterWindowMessagefunction to register a unique message tag. SoftMax Pro uses this tag information when the command is 
    received to distinguish between a Windows generated message and an 
    external command. The value returned should be a non-zero value.

UINT tag = RegisterWindowMessage(“SOFTMaxProMsg”);
    */