I am extremely new to C++, can sum1 tell me a faster way to output stuff than cout? It either outputs too slow or takes too long to automatically scroll or something. I was trying to sort of output and refresh in real time w cout

Recommended Answers

All 23 Replies

Can you explain a bit more on what you are trying to do? Better if you can post the code. Otherwise there will be a lot of answers based on a lot of assumptions.

its really big, prolly outside the limits for posts. Im getting way ahead of myself, making a program this big wen i know nothing and probably would be able to make the same program better if i wait until i know more. but, basically its a program for the 15 slider puzzle and it gets confusing/disorienting or watever cause the info is flashing too fast for you to really make moves as fsast as you would like.

Wow, i need to read what I write before i post. If anyone wants, i can email it so you can see what i mean.

No need to email. You can attach your program here. Make sure you attach code, and not the executable.

Fancy. Ty. Its like 1008 lines and not well commented, though. Atleast it only uses simple stuff.

Skimmed through your program, and it is not cout that seems to be the problem. You are calling cout too much. Remember that optimization of code should start first with your algorithm. The rest will usually be taken care by a decent compiler. Take for example the for loops where you are outputting 50 newline characters.

for ( i = 0 ; i < 50; i++ )
   cout << '\n';

This piece of code calls cout 50 times. IO functions take a lot of time. That means you are writting to the console 50 times which takes a lot of time, when you consider the total number of times you do this in your program.
A better way will be to first create the string with 50 newline characters and output them all in a single cout call. like this

std::string newline( 50, '\n');
    std::cout << newline ;