hi guys, hope you are doing very well. I've been working on a program that if I enter lowercase letters in one textField the other should display it in capital letters with the help of Event Handling but I am constantly getting these two errors. I'm a beginner so would be really nice if you could help me out.

Contributors
Replies
Views
2 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by JamesCherrill

somehow I can't post the code as it says post the code by pressing the code button in the editer toolbar but when I press nothing happens.

Code posting does work - start your message, click the code button you should see a new window in which you can post your code. If that's not working can you post a screen shot that shows what your'e trying?
Thanks

it's still not working but I took a snapshot how'd I post it?

[Edit: code received via PM and posted here by JC]

import javax.swing.JFrame;
import java.awt.FlowLayout;
import javax.swing.JButton;
import java.awt.event.ActionListener;
import java.awt.event.ActionEvent;
import javax.swing.JOptionPane;
import javax.swing.JTextField;

class cls extends JFrame implements ActionListener
{

public cls(){
super("MY First Event Handling");
setLayout(new FlowLayout());
JTextField atextfield=new JTextField();

JTextField btextfield=new JTextField();

add(atextfield);
add(btextfield);

atextfield.addActionListener(this);
btextfield.addActionListener(this);
}
public void actionPerformed(ActionEvent r){
String action=r.getActionCommand();
String data = r.getText();
String out = data.toUpperCase();

}

}

public static void main(String arg[])
{
cls obj=new cls();
obj.setSize(800,400);
obj.setVisible(true);
obj.setDefaultCloseOperation(EXIT_ON_CLOSE);
}
}

Edited by JamesCherrill: Added code

OK, I posted the code for you (just clicked the "code" button and pasted it in!).
Now, what exactly are the two errors you referred to?

cannot find Symbol r.getText()
line no:27