Good day to all!

I'm totally lost here. I am just beginning programming lessons by reading How to Design Programs and use Dr. Racket. I bump into C++ and got confused which one should I learn first. Or should I study them at the same time. Please advise.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

I don't know what Dr.Racket is but looks like some form of haskell. Personally, I would learn the core bread and butter languages first, so that includes c++, java, maybe PHP and python.

Haskell type languages I would consider later. Not sure what everyone else thinks but you can't go too far wrong learning a language that has stood the test of time.

"Dr. Racket" is the IDE for the Racket programming language, which is often used to teach first-year computer science students at several large institutions. "How to Design Programs" is MIT's introduction on the language. In my opinion, it is the best approach to start programming (I often see people learning faster starting with Racket as opposed to more industrial languages).

Not sure what everyone else thinks but you can't go too far wrong learning a language that has stood the test of time.

Lisp (which Racket is based on) is much older (1958) then shiny new languages like C++, PHP and Python. It has been used to introduce new programers to programming at many large university since the later 60's, and is still widely used today for that purpose.

I don't know what Dr.Racket is but looks like some form of haskell

To be fair you're not off. Haskell and Racket are both functional languages. Though, not much else is simular between them (learning one wouldn't help you learn the other more then what would be naturally expected when you learn a new language).