Hello. I'm a thirteen year old programmer. I find it strange how I can learn the core of a language in about half an hour. No joke. I've been programming for about a year, and I know about half a dozen languages. Including C/C++, Lisp, Python, Perl, SQL, Java, C#, PHP, and some others. Do I have some sort of ability? Or am I just another young programmer.

Recommended Answers

All 41 Replies

Either you have a truely exceptional ability or you don't really understand what it means learn or know a language.
Maybe if you post some examples of your best code people here could tell you which it is?

Ok. Should I give a list of contributions?

I've written some code for the linux kernel and Ubuntu.

I sent you some code.

My first inclination would be to think that these are the wonderful illusions of youth.

I just speak from experience. The kind of feeling you describe is something that I have felt far too often to count. It's sort of a case of "the sun always shines before the clouds come". You always feel like you know everything before you realize you know nothing. You can feel totally indestructible right up to the point that a bus hits you in the face. You can be wholeheartedly convinced that you're an expert, until you meet a real expert and realize how far you have yet to come.

That said, it's wonderful that you feel this way and that you are proud of what you can accomplish, that's great. Just be prepared and open-minded to the possibility that you could get a hard dose of reality some day, and probably over and over again after that. In other words, keep a little reserve of humility, it might come in handy.

But who knows... maybe you are a prodigy..

@Mike2k