is there anyway to improve my code's time complexity or memory's complexity ? (without using advanced methods - im a beginner)
its a method that gets an array filled with zeroes and other numbers, and it changes each number(which is not a zero) to the distance of the closest zero to it.
for example this array: { 1 , 0 , 2 , 5 , 1 , 3 , 0 , 1 , 1 , 0 }
will be changed into this: {1 , 0 , 1 , 2 , 2 , 1 , 0 , 1 , 1 , 0}

for (int i=0; i<a.length; i++)
        {
            if (a[i]!=0){
                int right=0, left=0;
                for (int j=i; j>=0; j--) //count zeroes from the left side
                {
                    if (a[j]!=0)
                        ++left;
                    else
                        break;
                }
                for (int k=i; k<a.length; k++) //count zeroes from right side
                    if (a[k]!=0)
                        ++right;
                    else
                        break;
                a[i]=Math.min(right,left); //finds the closest zero
            }
            else 
                continue;
        }

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

I'm not a java developer ... However, if I follow your logic correctly, you're checking to the left side. Then, if it's not 0 itself, then you check from the right side. Well, if it's not a 0 itself, then the closest we can be to it is 1. Therefore, if it's already a 1 from the left side, there should be no need to then check the right side because it can't be anything better.

In fact, taking that a step further, you first count from the left, then you count from the right. Then, you figure out which one is lowest. Well, I think instead maybe you should be counting from the left, as you are, and then store that number. Then, count from the right only up to the number we counted from the left. Once we hit it, we know that the left is closest, and we can just break.