Hello everyone, I'm pretty new to python and I have found this code https://www.daniweb.com/programming/software-development/code/260268/restart-your-python-program to restart a python program. I have developed a little program and applied this function to it.

By pressing a Button the function resize() is being called which triggers the restart_program() function.

But when I start the programm in a CMD Shell it shuts down but does not come back again.
When I separately try out the short code snippet from Gribouillis it works fine...

I hope the code you'll find below is enough, because I don't want to add the ~1.200 lines of code I've written ...

Thanks in advance!

def resize():
    B = csizeb.get()
    H = csizeh.get()

try: # Versuche B und H in 'int' umzuwandeln. Falls nicht möglich, zeige allgemeinen Fehler #
        b = int(B)
        h = int(H)
        if 500 <= b <= 2000 and 400 <= h <= 2000: # Eingabewerte prüfen #
            tkinter.messagebox.showinfo("Neustart erforderlich","Programm wird neugestartet!")
            csize = open("csize.txt", "w")
            csize.write(B + "\n")
            csize.write(H)
            csize.close()
            restart_program()
        else:
            tkinter.messagebox.showerror("Hinweis!","Eingabe konnte nicht verarbeitet werden.\n\nBitte wählen Sie eine Größe zwischen 500 x 400 und 2000 x 2000 Pixeln.")
            return
    except:
        tkinter.messagebox.showerror("Eingabe ungültig ...", "Es können nur Zahlen verarbeitet werden!")
        return

def restart_program():
    """Restarts the current program.
    Note: this function does not return. Any cleanup action (like
    saving data) must be done before calling this function."""
    python = sys.executable
    os.execl(python, python, * sys.argv)

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Can you add enough code so that we can have the button that calls the resize() function and try it ourselves and reproduce the error ?