Hello,

I am very new to programming as I am only a few weeks into my C# class. I have a project and after reading and reading my book, sadly I am stuck. Here is what the project calls for: I need to create a program that converts inches as an input to feet, yards and miles as an out put. I need to set all of the values to two points after the decimal and use constants, variables and separate methods to accomplish this task.
I have an idea as how to start the program and how to use constants and variables but am confused as how to use various methods to accomplish this task. Again I am sure this is basic stuff and has become frustrating that I am in need of help. I do have a desire to learn this and become good at it. If anyone can help me not just complete the project but ultimately understanding of programming it would be greatly appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

There are plenty of online courses from free to paid (Udemy is mentioned a lot and has some free ones.)

Most schools have tutors if you check in with your school counselor.

commented: Thank you for getting back to me. I agree there is so much information online, but my issue is the more I read and watch the more I become confused. +0

The trick is to try doing it by hand first. Write down all the steps to get the desired results. It has to be clear enough that another person would be able to do the task only from the instructions. Those instructions are your pseudo code. Then it's a matter of translating that set of instructions to c# code.

As Reverend Jim wrote, maybe you are trying to use your computer before you have all the steps and design. The online courses and tutors are where many start but it sounds like you need to step back and do the thinking before the coding.

Can't do your homework for you, but here are some tips to get you started:

1. Constants - Use these to define the conversion multipliers. For example: private int FeetConversionRate = 12; (12 inches in a foot)