Hello All,

I've only just started to develope some code in VB.net and i have very little experience in it and some of the "instructional" web pages are very confusing to my dyslexic mind.

The scenario is as follows: -

I am connected to a server via VPN, but the connection speed to the server is kind of erratic. The CAD software I use in my day job, is quite processor hungry/dependent and sometimes the CAD software will stop working as it processes work/commands. Sometimes the issue is not the CAD software, but the latency of the VPN connection (this is not at my end, but the server connection). When the CAD stops working, I start a command prompt window and ping the server and get something like the following.

Ping.jpg

I would like to do something similar in vb.net.

I have a user form with a button on it to ping the cad server and this works and I can get a single result.

This uses the following code (which I have borrowed from somewhere):

Private Sub OnePingCadSvr_Click(sender As Object, e As EventArgs) Handles OnePingCadSvr.Click

Dim host As String = "0.0.0.0"
        Dim pingreq As Ping = New Ping()
        Dim rep As PingReply = pingreq.Send(host)
        Dim SingleRoundtripTime As Long

Console.WriteLine("Pinging {0} [{1}]", host, rep.Address.ToString())
        Console.WriteLine("Reply From {0} : time={1} TTL={2}", rep.Address.ToString(), rep.RoundtripTime, rep.Options.Ttl)
        PingHost.Text = "Reply From: " & rep.Address.ToString()
        PingHost.Refresh()
        PingRoundTrip.Text = "Round Trip Time: " & rep.RoundtripTime & "ms" ' & rep.Options.Ttl
        PingRoundTrip.Refresh()
        System.Threading.Thread.Sleep(1500)

End Sub