Hello..alllllI have to manage CVS repository using ANT, I will be given ear files and have to update this files in CVS.Can any one please help me out ??? Im new to CVS never used before :(How shall I make new repository, I dnt want any coding stuff just some ideas I have 5 countires and they all have different components... and I have planned to prepare one common folder where I can manage all common components...Why I am using CVS, becasue every time i send pacakge to any of this country I forget some componetns which are modified If its not clear please post new Q... Thanking you in advance...Taps

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Are you on a unix, linux or windows machine?

There are different cvs products for each I think.

You are going to have to do a lot of reading on cvs to get good at it. But there are CVS commands written into ANT, which should help you out quite a bit. Just remember when copying to set defaultexcludes to no so all the CVS directories and files get copied too.

General CVS Info

If you're on a windows machine there is a grapical user interface (for connecting to a CVS repository) called Tortoise CVS which is very good.

HeyThanks a lot... yes on unix server ...

http://www.pragmaticprogrammer.com/

Get their CVS book, their project automation book, their unittesting book, and maybe others that sound interesting.
Great reads, great information in a package you can actually use.

Thanks a lot for your reply and sending me such useful bookBut I have one more Q How shall I manage this configration manegementThere is folder which contain all binary files (ear)and there are 5 countries with all different components.All binary files are in one folder and I have to prepare directory so that all common components are listed in common directory and different components are listed in directory of countries...I dnt understand how shall i mange it..; can u please guide me by giving some example pleaseeeeeee...Taps