Hi there im very new to VB.net. However ive bee told its the best place for me to start if i want to program a small application for use with my family business.

Basically i want to be able to enter the type of employee. Either (Manager, Help Desk or sales) and the system to output the amount i should pay them based on the hours they work in a week.

I pay my Sales people: £6.43 per hour
I pay my Help desk emoyees: £5.63
I pay my manager: £8.23

Please any help would be appreciated, ive purchased a VB.NET book, but i have no idea where to start. Thankyou

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Well you need to read the book and do what it says, if you can't figure out what it's telling you post here and we'll try and help.

It's hard to say where to start other than the above becuase I have no idea from your post what you know don't know about computers and programming them.

What PC do you have is it running XP service pack2 ? in which case the .NET frame work is most likely installed and you can start straight away. Did the book include a CDROM with Visual Studio Express Edition? some of them do, if so install it and follw the exercises in the book.

Basically you need to learn the VB syntax (computer instructions) from the book and VB sites on the internet. You place the syntax of your program in a file and use the compiler of the .NET Framework to turn it into an executable program that the .NET Framework can then run on your computer.

If you download Visual Studio Express Edition (it's free) this will help make the above tasks easier, it is an IDE (Integrated Developent Environment) designed to help you create, manage compile and debug the files that make up your program.

Im using SP2, i understand what an IDE is, and am familier with basic VB.NET commands.

I just want to be able to enter emplyee type and hours worked and recieve a box saying how much i should pay them.