Hi, im new to programming. I have read alot of posts on this site and am wondering if i need to learn C before i learn C++. Is learning a language before C essential? or will i just get the hang of it.
This is my second post, asking about what to learn, i am just getting confused with what and which to learn first.
I have been told to start with VB, or just start with C, and have even read that i can just learn C++ straight away. ?!

Thanks

PS. you got any good sites for free books or tutorials?

Recommended Answers

All 49 Replies

Member Avatar for iamthwee

You do not need to learn c before c++.

I found c++ so easy to learn, it should be like a walk in the park.

it is much easyer to understand c++ if you know c....

C++ isnt difficult...some people think (like me) that c++ is easyer to learn than c

K, cool. Was it the first language you learnt?

>it is much easyer to understand c++ if you know c....

Perhaps, but some people still think c++ is just c with classes.

My advice would be to learn c++ on its own away from the distractions of c.

Sweet, thnx. You guys reply sooo fast :D:D:D

K, cool. Was it the first language you learnt?

my first language was pascal..

omg...last question ^^

ive written and comiled the "hello world" thing using Dev-C++

when i run the exe, a dos-like window pops up for half sec and dissapears...wtf? ive read and reread over what i am meant to do...?!?!?! is that whats meant to hpn?

omg...last question ^^

when i run the exe, a dos-like window pops up for half sec and dissapears...wtf? ive read and reread over what i am meant to do...?!?!?! is that whats meant to hpn?

Thats because when "Hello word" is printed on a screen program ends and cmd clooses...

omg...last question ^^

Add

system("PAUSE");

in front of return 0;

The program is doing exactly what it is supposed to do, the only thing being the command window closes after displaying the output.