int fibcount;
    int max;
    double curfib;

int N;
    printf ("Please enter the number of loops (int value)... ");
    scanf("%d", &max);
    if(max <= 0)
    {
           printf ("Number must be greater than zero... seting to default 20\n");
           max = 20;
    }

first_def = 0;
    secnd_def = 1;
    printf("Attempting to calculate fibonacci\n\n");
    printf("Loop  Fib#\n");
    for(fibcount = 1; fibcount <= max; fibcount++)
    {
                 curfib = first_def + secnd_def;
                 secnd_def = first_def;
                 first_def = curfib;  
                 printf ("%3d    %.0f \n", fibcount, curfib);
    }
}

Well, there it is! I am pretty proud of it, too! It will calculate fibonacci to n digits... :D

Since i am new to c (i am moving from QBASIC to C/C++), i would like to hear some criticism about it. Productive only, please... :)

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Well, there it is! I am pretty proud of it, too! It will calculate fibonacci to n digits... :D

Since i am new to c (i am moving from QBASIC to C/C++), i would like to hear some criticism about it. Productive only, please... :)

Treat C and C++ as separate languages from early on, it'll save you confusion later.

Test for some larger values, say 1500 -- note the results. How might you handle such issues?

Ditch using scanf for user input to preserve your sanity later.

Make your program better by avoiding the use of scanf() to retrieve input. Although it's taught in many tutorials, and seems to be good, it has a problem with not removing newlines at the end of the stream, and although doesn't hurt you now, it will later.

A better solution is to grab the entire line with getline(), and then parse the data with sscanf(), or any other functions you like. So your input code could look like:

size_t len = 0;
char line[128];
getline(&line, &len, stdin);
sscanf(line, "%d", &max);