Hi, first post :cheesy:

I'm currently a complete noob to c++ programming and am currently reading the book "Beginning C++ Game Programming" written by Michael Dawson. I had the problem where i complied and ran the following source code:

#include <iostream>

int main()

{
std::cout << "Game Over!";
std::cin.ignore(std::cin.rdbuf()->in_avail() + 1);
return 0;
}

This would pop up with a window and it would then very quickly dissapear, in the book it says that this might happen and says to use the following code just before the

return 0;

bit:

std::cin.ignore(std::cin.rdbuf()->in_avail() + 1 )

This then ofcourse worked and i have to press enter to close the window that pops up (you'll see why i have written this later).

I then moved a tiny bit further into the book and used the following code:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
int score; 
double distance; 
char playAgain; 
short lives, aliensKilled;

score = 0;
distance = 1200.76;
playAgain = 'y';
lives = 3;
aliensKilled = 10;

double engineTemp = 6572.89;
cout << "\nscore: " << score << endl;
cout << "distance: " << distance << endl;
cout << "playAgain: " << playAgain << endl;
cout << "lives: " << lives << endl;
cout << "aliensKilled: "<< aliensKilled << endl;
cout << "engineTemp: " << engineTemp << endl;

int fuel;
cout << "\nHow much fuel? ";
cin >> fuel;
cout << "fuel: " << fuel << endl;

typedef unsigned short int ushort;
ushort bonus = 10;
cout << "\nbonus: " << bonus << endl;
return 0;
}

The problem with this one is that at the red highlighted bit the user is meant to input a number into the window and press enter. I have read on this forum that you can use the following code to get around the problem:

std::cin.ignore(std::cin.rdbuf()->in_avail() + 2 )

Lo and behold it works aswell.

Now onto the real question :rolleyes:

The two following bits of source: