Hi all,

I'm new to J2EE programming. I have a simple doubt .

I have already created a lookup method for EJB bean in Session bean .

My question is how to call a method of an ENTITY bean (say insertRow) from SESSION bean method(Say invoke_insertRow) .

Please provide me an example code .

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You don't.
You create a new entity, and it takes care of its database access itself.

You don't.
You create a new entity, and it takes care of its database access itself.

Hi Jwenting ,
First of all thanks for your reply . I think i didn't correctly specified what i need .

Task i need to accomplish :
=================
I have to read ACCESS tables and EXCEL sheets to convert in to XML file so that i can store that values in SQL SERVER using JOnAS Application Server .

Here's my story which will tell what i need :
===========================

I created SESSION BEAN program which contains function which will convert ACCESS/EXCEL file in to XML .

I also created ENTITY BEAN program which contains function to store the data in SQL SERVER(the data which are obtained from that XML file).

i have developed that ENTITY module in such a way that i need to pass the data as arguments of create method of that ENTITY BEAN as follows .

public String ejbCreate(String empid, String firstname, String lastname, String circle, String subcircle, String created_date, String updated_date) throws CreateException {
        try{
            insertRow(empid,firstname,lastname,circle,subcircle,created_date,updated_date);
        }catch(SQLException ex){
            throw new EJBException("ejbCreate: " + ex.getMessage());
        }
        this.empid = empid;
        this.firstName = firstname;
        this.lastName = lastname;
        this.Circle = circle;
        this.Subcircle=subcircle;
        this.Created_Date=created_date;
        this.Updated_Date=updated_date;
        return empid;

}

private void insertRow(String empid, String firstName,