Hey, I'm a complete noob to batch commands. I just found that they might be somewhat useful for some stuff I'm doing, so I thought I'd try them out.

Anyway, I've got a batch file that calls a program called Poweroff to turn on a pc on my network via WOL (wake on lan).

Here is the code:

CLS
@ECHO ON
poweroff wol -ip 192.168.0.3 -subnet 255.255.255.0 -mac 0xxxx00xxxxx
call wait 90
CLS
EXIT

As you can see, I'm calling a script called wait.bat, that simply pauses the script for 90 seconds to make sure the box has come out of hibernate before I continue processing commands. But I would like it to be more efficient. Rather than just waiting 90 seconds, and then continuing on, I would like to ping 192.168.0.3, and wait till there is a reply, and then go on. That way I can make sure the box is up before continuing.

Anyone know how to check the ping reply to make sure it is getting a reply before continuing on?
Thanks.

edit: I replaced the MAC address for security purposes.

Recommended Answers

All 29 Replies

*BUMP*
No ideas? Surely it's a simple solution. I've googled it to death but can't find anything. A batch command that could confirm whether a ping comes back successfully would be fairly useful, no? Say:

PING 192.168.0.3
IF Reply {
do this
}
else {
do this
}

But how do I check for the reply, and pass it to the IF statement?

Member Avatar for iamthwee

>Surely it's a simple solution

I don't think so, I could only think of a way to get the status back using code i.e getProcessState. Unless someone knows better?

Well thanks for the reply anyway. I think I might have something figured out. As soon as I do, I'll update this thread.
Thanks.

If you do a ping -t 192.168....

Then it will continue pinging until you hit CTL C - you will therefore see when it comes up and continue when you are ready.

If you do a ping -t 192.168....

Then it will continue pinging until you hit CTL C - you will therefore see when it comes up and continue when you are ready.