Hey All,

I'm an avid c++ programmer, fairly new to C#. I understand most the basics and I can get simple tasks complete in C#.

I'm looking for any links to tutorials on writting a scripting language in C# if anyone has/knows any.

In relation to this question, I seem to be having a couple of problems finding a good tutorial in reading text from a file.
I know how to read an entire file and display it, but I'm having problems looking for certain words, reading one word at a time etc.

If I can figure that part out, im sure creating the script language will be that much easier.

Thanks,
-Mario

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Alright so Im looking at every example of parsing text files that I can find, and really none of them are of any help. They are all showing what I already know, and none of them explain the things I don't know, they only show them.

So, I'll give it a shot asking here. I'm basically just looking for a simple way to parse an entire text file, and when it comes across a line that begins with a ';' (without the single quotes), that the following text in that line is a comment.

I have the following:

StreamReader sr = new StreamReader(@"File.txt", true); 
String str = sr.ReadToEnd(); 
Regex reg = new Regex(";");

So as you can see, this obviously does nothing. I only saw some examples of the Regex class but nothing that showed me how to use it, so I'm probably using it wrong in the above example. There must be a simpler way to just look at each line and see if it begins with a ';' .

Thanks

String str = sr.ReadToEnd(); 
Regex reg = new Regex(";");

Could also do something like this:

char[] dlim = { ' ', '=', '\t' };
string line = sr.ReadLine();

string[] lines = line.Split(dlim);
            if (lines[0].ToUpper().Contains(" matched case here ") )
                // do something with line 0