Hi everyone. It's my first time here, but I'll try not to be an obnoxious rookie.

I'm doing a beginning course in C in college (yeah, original, I know :p), and at the moment I'm trying to work a project. First off, I'm not trying to have someone do the dirty work for me; I just need someone to point me in the right direction. I get a little long-winded, though, so I apologize for that in advance.

First, my project involves reading from a data file. I'm reading four values at a time; these include the ID number of a candidate in an election (candID) and the number of votes for that candidate in three districts (j1, j2, and j3). I'm printing to a .txt file. On each line, I'll print the candId, j1, j2, and j3 values for each candidate and the total number of votes received for that candidate (totalScore). However, I am only listing candidates who received no more than 5 votes to a district.
Next, I'll print the total number of candidates listed (totalCands).
Finally, I will print the four candidates with the highest number of total votes (showing both the candID and totalScore for those candidates).

Here is a sample of the output I'll be aiming for:

Candidate Results
Id    J1    J2    J3    totalScore
 3     3     5     2        10
 1     5     4     4        13
 6     0     2     1         3
 4     4     3     5        12
 2     2     0     3         5
 5     1     1     0         2
      6 Total Candidates
Top 4 candidates were:
Id         totalScore
 1             13
 4             12
 3             10
 2              5