I graduated high school last year in '06 but unlike a lot of people I know what I want to do for a career move and not sure exactly how to pursue it. In my last 2 years of high school I was enrolled in Cisco Networking Academy I, II, III, and IV my last year. So basically I know my way around networking with hubs, switches, routers, you name it, but of course there's always more to learn.

Well I actually want to get into software engineering but not quite sure how to go about it. I reside in MO and planned on going to a community college for 2 years then transferring over to a good 4 year college.

But the first 2 years is gonna be me getting the basics out of the way, like English credits and stuff like that, so I'm asking what's the best way to get a head start in way I'm trying to do. I've already been teaching myself C++ with compilers and what not, but there's so much more I can be doing and I'm usually one of those guys your friend always asks about how to fix or do something on the computer so I'm not used to asking for help on this one lol.

So please anything else I can get or do, suggestions, goal careers and what I can do with it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys. And yes, I'm quite past "Hello World!" :]

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I'd say to just keep writing code for now, when you get to the 4-year school they'll have plenty of resources. You might consider reading a couple books on algorithms or software development, and try applying those concepts on your own projects (algorithms would probably apply more, depending on what you're writing).

Also once in college you might be able to shorten your time there by taking bypass tests to get credit for the material you already know. No point in being bored in class listening to elementry stuff you have already studied.