SO I am trying to write a program in C++ that take in Grades 1-5 and how many cans they collect. This program needs to add the cans they collect then print them. I am very new to C++ and I am better at writing Pseudocode than actual C++ languange so bear with what I have so far.

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
int grade[5];
int numberofcans;

print header ();

while (grade <1; grade>5;)
{ cout<<”Invalid data”<<;}

int i;

For (grade = i[1], grade++)
{cout <<grade 1 has collected”,” cans”<<;
}
}

My teacher gave me some template to go by but it is confusing me too much so I am trying to it my way. Am I close at all??

This is the template I have:
(it's in psuedocode)

int main()
{ 
/* declaration and initialization
  delare variables to hold number of cans for each grade.  This should be 
  an array (cans).  
  delcare any other variables.

print_header ();
  read record
  while this is not last record  
  {
    is_valid  = check_record (grade, collected)
	if (is_valid)
	   print data and process record
	else
	   print data and an invalid message

read record
  }
  print_header_per_grade ();
  print_number_of_cans  (cans); 
  return (0) 
}

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I'm in a hurry so I may have some grammar errors or use whatever terminology came to me at the time :-)

The first thing I noticed was that your while loop didn't do exactly what you want.

A while loop could only test for one thing, and it needs to be written correctly. The correct syntax is:

while (grade < THIS || grade > THAT)
      {
          // statements
     }

Notice that the OR logical operator (two verticle bars - shift + backslash) is used to test for two conditions. Only one needs to be true in order for the test to pass.

What you have inside your loop is also a little off...

// assuming you fix the test first...
      {
           cout<<”Invalid data”<<;
      }