I am to use one loop to accumulate numbers (and later get average of) and to be a sentinal control (when the user wants to quit).
I think it makes better sense to use 2 loops (nested) but the instructor has insisted on one loop.
Could anyone give me a hint how this could be done. I am a first semester programming student.
thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

It is good that you are thinking in terms of separating out functions in your code.

In this case, there is no compelling reason to do it either way. Each loop must iterate through the exact same sequence of numbers.

If you were to use two separate loops though, you would need to store the numbers obtained by the first loop somewhere (such as in a vector or list or an array), then loop through them again to calculate their average.

Write your (one) loop as if you were calculating the average. Only instead of getting the next number from an array or something just get it from the user. When the user gives you the sentinel quit the loop, finish calculating the average, and print it.

Hope this helps.

commented: glad to see you posting again. +12

You could try something like this: (pseudocode)

int input, average, total, count;

while(count++) 
{
ask for input ;
if (input == 0) break; // 0 quits te program
total += input;
average = total / count;
}

printf ("Total = %d, Average =%d", total, average;

You'll have to add some errorchecking for the input etc, but I hope this helps.

You could try something like this: (pseudocode)

int input, average, total, count;

while(count++) 
{
ask for input ;
if (input == 0) break; // 0 quits te program
total += input;
average = total / count;
}

printf ("Total = %d, Average =%d", total, average;

You'll have to add some errorchecking for the input etc, but I hope this helps.

Yuck. And bad psuedo-code too. Psuedo code should not be written in C/C++. And haven't you ever heard of formatting?

set count to 0
set total to 0
ask for input
while input <> 0 
{