Hi guys this is my first post on DaniWeb, I have searched for help on here for hours on hours.
I am the webmaster at my high school and I have been given the project of making a Book Depository for one of our departments, one that would do the same duties of Follet, check in check out input data view data ect.
I have a Access database with the information that I need on it. It is in 2000 format I believe. I understand that I need to reference to DOA which i have done. I started trying to make a login page and that even after reading the many pages on them in here I am still stumped.
Right now I dont have any code. I decided to try to start fresh. I guess I am asking for help as in sudgestions on where to start and once I do start what is after that?
I have never worked in Visual Basic before. I have done a little at home on my Mac using X code. That may be my next option if this doesnt work out. Thanks in advance if anyone can help me.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hi Nubski,

A few questions:
1. Will this application run on multiple computers?
2. Are your users staff, students or both? I.e. What level of trust can you assume from your users?
3. Do your users have individual Windows accounts (I assume a Windows environment because you mentioned Access and Visual Basic)? If so, are they local workstation accounts or accounts on a domain?
4. You mentioned Access - are you keen to build your system using Access or is it just the format your source data is in?

Sorry for all the questions - I'll try to reply quickly if you answer them.

Regards,

Chris Fry
Canberra, Australia

-This will run on multiple computers for now. Later we may run it from my computer throughout the network.
-Users will be staff only.
-Users do have individual windows accounts on a domain
-I have been using access because I took a class on it and am familiar with it.

No worries on the questions, any kind of help with this would be greatly appreciated.