Hi Everyone,

I am very new to web design and just starting to get the basics of CSS and html. Designing is so much fun! My site includes articles and I thought it would be cool to include a comment box. Before coming here I have read many many posts about how to create this.

I am leaning towards using php and setting up a mysql database with my godaddy account. Through the forums I have read, it looks like I have to create two php pages one for adding comments and one for processing comments.

Do I use an html page with reference to the php page (comment box form is in html)?? In other words which page will be used to display the whole page.

How do you control where the comments end up displaying.
ex. above the comment box or below the comment box.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

If you have any <?php ?> tags in your script, you have to save it with the extension .php . If you want to save it with .html extension, then you need to modify your htaccess file. You can make use of only 1 page/script to do everything.
-- list the comments here --
Have the fields for name, comments etc, with a submit button. When the form is submitted, get the values and insert it to the table ! A small example.

<?php
if(isset($_POST['submit'])){
  $comment=$_POST['comment'];
  $q="insert into comments_table (comment) values ('$comment')";
mysql_query($q);
} 
$q="select comments from comments_table";
 $result=mysql_query($q);
while($row=mysql_fetch_array($result)){
 //list the comments
 echo $row['comments']."<br />";
}
?>
<html>
<body>
<form method="Post" action="comments.php">
<textarea name="comments" rows=30 cols=10></textarea>
<input type="submit" name="submit" value="submit">
</form>
</body>
</html>

This is just an example. And comments should be above the 'comment box'..

Cheers,
Naveen