I am a new student to php and I am working on my first project. I have created an html form, a php output form and a php confirm form. I am having trouble linking them together, when I fill in the information on my form it does not show up in the output form or confirm form.. Any tips or suggestions on what I should do or check?

Thanks,

Joe

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I am a new student to php and I am working on my first project. I have created an html form, a php output form and a php confirm form. I am having trouble linking them together, when I fill in the information on my form it does not show up in the output form or confirm form.. Any tips or suggestions on what I should do or check?

Thanks,

Joe

Give some code dear, so we can tell where the problem exactly lies instead of firing the dart in the dark :)

<--- runs looking for those night vision goggles ;)

Your basic HTML form is going to have the following:

my example is a quick & dirty login script

Page1.html

<form method=POST action=login.php>
<input type=text name=user_id>
<input type=password name=user_pass>
<input type=submit value=Login>
</form>

Your next page (login.php) will need have the following attributes.
You have 2 variables submitted from the form on the previous page. The variables are $user_id & $user_pass.

Your PHP script now needs to do something with these variables. You can compare the username and password to something stored in your PHP file. (not very secure), or later once you are working with a MySQL database, you can locate the corresponding user's information, and either accept the users login, and redirect them to a members page, or deny the login, and print an error.

In short, your HTML form is going to send variables to the PHP script. When you declare a "name=" on an input field, that variable is sent to the next page with that variable name. Then you have to do something with it. Print it out, manipulate the database with it, etc.