hi there! im having a problem with making an order form. i want to display the products from a database and beside the product names, the customer could enter the quantity he wants to order. when the submit button is clicked, there comes the error.

im a newbie in php so i dont know how to resolve the errors. can anyone please help me?? thanks in advance!

here is the code:

<?php

$quantity = $_POST['quantity'];
$prod_desc = $_POST['prod_desc'];

if (!isset($_POST['submit'])) {

global $database;

$sql = 'SELECT * FROM #__products';
  $db = $database;
  $db->setQuery( $sql );
  $rows = $db->loadObjectList();

'<form action="<?php echo $PHP_SELF;?>" method="post">' ;

echo '<table>
  <col width="65" />
  <col width="300" />
  <col width="49" />
  <col width="46" />';

echo '<tr><td align="center">'."Product ID".'</td><td align="center">' ."Product Description". '</td><td align="center">' ."Price". '</td><td align="center">'."Quantity".'</td></tr>';

foreach ( $rows as $row ) {
    	echo '<tr><td align="center">'. $row->prod_id .'</td><td>' . $row->prod_desc . '</td><td align="right">' . $row->prod_price . '</td><td><input name="quantity" type="text" size="5"></td></tr>';
	} 

echo '<tr><td align="center">'.''.'</td><td align="center">' .''. '</td><td align="center">' .''. '</td><td align="center">'.'<input type="submit" name="submit" value="submit" />'.'</td></tr>';

echo '</table>';

'</form>';

}else{

echo "You ordered ". $quantity . " " . $prod_desc . ".<br />";

echo "Thank you!";
}

?>

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

What is the error messgae you are getting?

Why are you putting global in the if statement. That doesn't need to be there.

You are also trying to get $_POST variables without them being set since the form hasn't been submitted. This will throw a warning of undefined index.

This code:

and

'</form>';