Dear Friends. :)

I am new to this forum and php coding as well.
1. I would like to know
whether we can able to import .xls excel file contents into the mysql
database
table using php.?

Objective:
User has to browse the excel file from their system and import the contents into the mysql server.

Code Requirement:
Can we able to check each row in the user specified excel sheet with the server database table ( to check whether the particular record is already stored in the database) and do some modifications in the user excel sheet and import it into the database finally.?

I googled and found this great supportive forum. :) Can anybody help me? Thanks in advance :)

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Yeah! Im also new to programming php.. But I think there's a function that would parse your csv files.. just search on ur php manual... it fgetcsv.. something like that... Had an experience in doing csv parsing during my student training days... after u parsed the csv file just do the insert statement.. much better if u do that in OOP mode.

Thanks!

Dear Friends. :)

I am new to this forum and php coding as well.
1. I would like to know
whether we can able to import .xls excel file contents into the mysql
database
table using php.?

Objective:
User has to browse the excel file from their system and import the contents into the mysql server.

Code Requirement:
Can we able to check each row in the user specified excel sheet with the server database table ( to check whether the particular record is already stored in the database) and do some modifications in the user excel sheet and import it into the database finally.?

I googled and found this great supportive forum. :) Can anybody help me? Thanks in advance :)

Thanks for your post. I have got a very good article that stores csv file contents into the database. But my requirement is not for .csv files. fgetcsv can read csv files. But i want to know which class can read .xls files? !