I've been writing PHP for about two years now, nothing complex, mostly just HTML form processing scripts.

My latest project for a customer has over 40 items in the form. It's a dynamic form using some JavaScript and PHP that displays certain parts of the form based on other options selected.

My question is, due to the varying numbers of $_POST results that I may get, is there a more efficient way of getting the $_POST values?

I've done a lot of searching here and on Google, but so far I've come up short. This is the closest thing that I've found:

foreach($_POST as $name => $value) {
    print "$name : $value<br>";
}

Now, I wouldn't be printing the name and value, but would modifying this actually work? Does anyone know of a more efficient way?

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

That would be the best way. You'd do something like this:

switch ($name) {
    case "colour":
    // logic here to handle the colour
    break;
    case "size":
    // logic here to handle the type
    break;
    case "type":
    break;
  }
}

foreach is the best way of stepping through an array (such as $_POST) to find all the values and keys

So just to make sure that I'm understanding you, using the following code:

switch ($name) {
    case "colour":
    // logic here to handle the colour
    break;
    case "size":
    break;
    case "type":
    break;
  }
}

The whole processing form would be a big loop, then at the end I would add the mail function that sent the email. Something like this:

<?php
    switch ($name) {
        case "FirstName":
            // logic here to handle the FirstName
            break;
        case "LastName":
            // logic here to handle the LastName
            break;
        case "Email":
            // logic here to handle the Email
            break;
        case "EmailConfirm":
            // logic here to handle the EmailConfirm
            break;
// add remaining 30 or so $_POST entries here
    }
}