Hi,

I'm new to this and have a quick question.

I have a form called register.html and have javascript to check the form validation

<form
<input type="submit" value="Submit" onClick="return formValidate()">
</form>

so in register.html when user presses submit the formValidate method (javascript) is run.

once it returns true, how do i pass the variables from the form into a php page?

i know i can change onClick="data.php" but then the JS is not being run ...

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Have onsubmit event for form. Here is ane example.

<?php 
if(isset($_REQUEST['submit'])) {
	print "<pre>";
	print_r($_REQUEST);
	print "</pre>";
}
?>
<html>
<head>
<script type='text/javascript'>
function validate(form) {
	if(form.name.value == "") {
		alert("Name cannot be empty");
		return false;
	}
	return true;
}
</script>
</head>
<body>
<form method='post' onSubmit='javascript: return validate(this);'>
Name: <input type='text' name='name'><br />
<input type='submit' name='submit' value='submit'>
</form>
</body>
</html>

The part in <?php if($_REQ...) can be in your data.php .

Good luck!

thanks.

i've decided to place all the code in a php file instead of using a php and html file.

makes it easier! :)

Yep! It sure is. :)

Hi,

I'm new to this and have a quick question.

I have a form called register.html and have javascript to check the form validation

<form
<input type="submit" value="Submit" onClick="return formValidate()">
</form>

so in register.html when user presses submit the formValidate method (javascript) is run.

once it returns true, how do i pass the variables from the form into a php page?

i know i can change onClick="data.php" but then the JS is not being run ...

Thanks