I am fairly new to image uploaders (worked in animation for a long time).

I have an image upload form that works fine. The image uploads and redirects to another PHP page (imageupload_file.php) that confirms the image uploaded and gives you the name of the image and size on the server.

By clicking a link you go through to another page (galleryinsert.php) where you can add the image details to, such as page to be shown on, section on the page.

The only thing I cant do is get the image name to echo in the second details page. At the moment I have to copy and paste the name into galleryinsert.php and this is quite messy.

Is there a way I can save the image name as a variable and pass it through to the last form so I dont need to copy/paste it in?

Do you need to see the code?

Any help would be appreciated.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I don't know whether this is the best solution, but here it is:

<?php
// Note: this MUST be on the top of the page, without any whitespace whatsoever infront of it
session_start();
?>
<?php
$theimagename = "05-5098-40293050.jpg"; // You have retrieved this from your upload script
$_SESSION['imagename'] = $theimagename;
?>

Then you can retrieve that session variable on the next page:

<?php
// Note: this MUST be on the top of the page, without any whitespace whatsoever infront of it
session_start();
?>
<?php
$theimagename = $_SESSION['imagename'];
echo $theimagename;
?>

I am fairly new to image uploaders (worked in animation for a long time).

I have an image upload form that works fine. The image uploads and redirects to another PHP page (imageupload_file.php) that confirms the image uploaded and gives you the name of the image and size on the server.

By clicking a link you go through to another page (galleryinsert.php) where you can add the image details to, such as page to be shown on, section on the page.