Hi,
I'm trying to create a multilingual site and I've decided to go with the example shown here. The problem is that I'm also trying to build the site with a method I've never used before. The navigation is done through the get-method. All content gets loaded into the index file, depending on what is in the url different content gets loaded (e.g. ?page=home or ?page=contact). But in the index I include my file called navigation which looks like this (I've stripped the code so that it only contains what's necessary):

<?php
//Depending on the $navigation variable the site loads different content into the page
if ($navigation == 'home'){
	home();
}
else {
	firstPage();
}

//Here below is each function for each possible navigation option
#home
function home(){
	include "php/header/mm-header.php";

include "php/home/mm-home.php";
}

function firstPage(){
	include "php/first_page/mm-first_page.php";
}
?>

This is included in the index file.

so the page mm-home.php is included-included if you understand what I mean, it is included in a file that gets included. This is because I think it's much easier working with smaller files

I forgot to mention that when you first come to the site you get the option to view it in either english or an alternative language and after that you are redirected to the home-page.

The problem I face is that I need the language variable that is created in the index file, not through inclusion, to work in mm-home.php. The way I do it looks like this:

//Fetching the information needed to navigate the site
$navigation = mysql_real_escape_string($_GET['page']);

if (isset($_GET['lang'])){ 
	$_SESSION['lang'] = mysql_real_escape_string($_GET['lang']);
}
else { 
   $_SESSION['lang'] = 'en';
}

//Getting the correct language
$directory = 'languages';
include_once($directory.'/'.$_SESSION['lang'].'.lng');