Hi,
I am new in php.I want to use goto statement inside my program.But when i execute the below coding the blank page appears.This is the example program i referred in site.

Coding:
goto a;
echo 'Foo';

a:
echo 'Bar';

Help me..

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

It means you don't have the latest version of php. The goto element is only available in the latest release (5.3) but I wouldn't recommend it due to incompatibility bugs. Instead try using loops and if statements such as the following:

<?php
if (false) {
echo 'Foo';
}
echo 'Bar';
?>

Please check which is the php version you are using.
The goto operator is available as of PHP 5.3.

There doesnt seem to be any errors in the code you are using. It should definitely be a problem with the version.
The goto operator is available only as of PHP 5.3

Please check your PHP version

goto is a throw-back to the 1960s and is generally considered a bad thing. It generated what is called spaghetti code and programmers are advised to avoid using it. It was a much loathed method of causing problems and has been expunged from almost all programming languages due to endless mis-use and abuse.

Use if, as suggested earlier or call a function rather than jumping to it and then returning. Or a switch / case set. Or anything else you can think of.

Member Avatar for diafol

goto is a throw-back to the 1960s and is generally considered a bad thing. It generated what is called spaghetti code and programmers are advised to avoid using it. It was a much loathed method of causing problems and has been expunged from almost all programming languages due to endless mis-use and abuse.

Use if, as suggested earlier or call a function rather than jumping to it and then returning. Or a switch / case set. Or anything else you can think of.