I want to make a user profile , where in the people can login and fill in profile details .

Well basically i am wanting to make a connection between the alumni of my college with the existing students. So , i initially thought of making the alumni registered and display their profiles on the alumni page of college website.

I would be glad if you could help me out in going about this thing , since i am a noob in this field .

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Member Avatar for diafol

So what do you need? Google php login scripts and profile pages!
If you want to roll your own:

1) login form - can be an 'include file' that can be placed on a number of pages.
2) login form handler script (avoid placing this on the same page as the login form)
3) register form - put this on a dedicated page
4) register form handler script (again avoid placing this on the same page as the registration form) - sends confirmation link to user's email address
5) registration confirmation page - processes the confirmation link sent to user's email.
6) edit profile page - allows users to edit their own profile (secure)
7) memberlist page - list of all members* - loads of options for this!

* you can list members as:

1) a straight list, with a link to a profile page
2) a list of members, each with a profile
3) a mixture of the above, using javascript or ajax to display their profile in-page or in a lightbox when a link (their name?) is clicked.

You may want to set up a forum or something similar for your members to communicate. This forum type thingy could even handle your login/registration for you.

Well thanks for such elaborate reply .. it was really helpful .
I am fully aware of forum (phpbb) and this interface doesnt require that , cuz , i want the current college students to have an interaction with the alumni , not the alumni among themselves .