Example : http://rpol.net

I am trying to create a site of the same nature and trying to avoid "Cgi".
A Few questions:

The example above allows users to create threads in allowed areas only. Further in some areas user can only post.. In others they can Admin thier threads..

I expect each area uses different code.
I also wish to include a sticky list and private messages.. and and and.
I have two templates phpbb (php) and e-blah (cgi) Or maybe you know of a better template to begin the mods with?
Can I do this in php? Or can this only be done in cgi?

I am new to the whole code thing and would be so greatfull for any and all help you could offer. Thanks in advance Andy.

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

Whoa, just beginning, eh? Well, you've got a ways to go, but try to enjoy the journey...and don't forget to sleep! :)

The system you describe sounds similar to a forum/bulletin board system. The features restricting users to various access levels are common in applications such as phpBB and VBulletin (used by Daniweb).

Anything you'll want to do, you can do with PHP--you won't need to do CGI. (Note: PHP can be used in CGI mode.)

Spend a little time researching products such as phpBB and VBulletin--their websites will have feature lists that should help you discover if these products already do what you want. Both are very customizeable, but to do that, you've got to learn PHP programming, and know how to work with databases.

Thank you,
I am aware this road will be long. I have looked at the code and gotten the program, php designer (2005). Next a few books and hundreds of hours.
At least I have a place to start now. I have decided on phpbb as I need source code and heck it's free. I would love anyones thoughts or help as I jump into the deep end of the code pool. ;)