hello.

i want to have a database in which i can have data of proteins and their structures .I'm New to php and have a biological background i studies . so can any one help me step by step that how can i build the database.

regards
Stefano
sa_kushi@gmail.com

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

If you are not from IT background start learning database with MS access. php/mysql will be difficult to start with for you.

no i know ms access.. but i have knowledge of MY sql but i'm not profiecient in php and i have to make a database for proteins interaction so the amount of data is large and it would be better to have PHP and mysql

Member Avatar for rajarajan2017

Do you installed and configured php in your system? if not find the xampp in google and download the free open source software. It will installed everything (PHP, MYSQL & Apache) in your system. so that you can test your database from your localhost(local system)

Member Avatar for diafol

OK, Google XAMPP and download and install this. In addition Google SQLyog and download and install the community version of this. The SQLyog program is a GUI or 'front-end' so that you can manipulate data, like create and edit tables and their data without too much hassle - a *bit* like Access.

You have a choice as to what you have to do. You can build one huge table - as long as there is no duplicate data. However, if there is duplicate data in any field (e.g. monomeric, dimeric, tetrameric etc), you should create a 'relational' model. The relational model just isolates data and stops replication (and incorrect replication!).

So for example:

Proteins table
==============
id (Primary Key, integer, length = 4 (which is equivalent to 9999 consecutive entries))
trivial_name (varchar, length = 50 (decide on the appropriate max number of characters)
unit_id (a Foreign Key field on the Units table; tinyint, length = 3)
...other fields...

Units table
===========
unit_id (Primary Key, tinyint, length = 2)