Hi, I'm a relative newb with wamp server and web development. I've been asked to take over the development of a website.

when I'm accessing the site locally everything works fine. But when I upload the site to our online server and I try to access it remotely from another machine/through the url.. whenever I click on a link the site tries to redirect to the "localhost/...." and then says it can't connect to the webpage because the machine I'm currently on is looking into it's local directories for the page (localhost) as opposed to looking for them on the server's directories..

does anyone have any ideas why this is happening?

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hey Marty6,

This will more than likely just be because of how you have coded the links, I imagine they look like this:

<a href="http://localhost/">Link</a>

All you have to do is replace localhost with the actual domain name of the website (in the source code files) and things should be fine.

actually the links that the person before me put into the code look something like..

<?php
        echo '<a  href="'.$_SERVER['PHP_SELF'].'?registration_tag=1">Sign up</a>';
?>

and when I look at the source directly from the website through my browser it comes up as:

<a  href="/index.php?registration_tag=1">Sign up</a>

Have you got a link to the website in question by the way?

unfortunately the site is not officially launched yet so I'm not allowed to circulate the url just yet. :(

I believe the reason why they want to echo the url dynamically/code generated, is that this is going to be in a side bar that might be located on multiple pages, not just on the index.php, so they want it to link to the specific page you're currently on not just to the index.

but for now I'll hard code the links just so we get something working in the meantime (we haven't added the other pages that need the sidebar yet).